REGENTS COMMUNICATION REQUEST FOR ACTION

SUBJECT: University of Michigan Regents Bylaws:

Sec. 11.14, 11.15, 11.16 The School of Education

Sec. 11.18. The University of Michigan-Flint: College of Arts, and Sciences

Executive Committee

Sec. 11.215: The University of Michigan-Flint School of Nursing Executive

Committee

Sec. 11.38. The UMMS Executive Committee

Sec. 11.53. The School of Social Work: The Executive Committee

Sec. 6.02. Undergraduate and Graduate Degree Programs

ACTION:

Approval of "Housekeeping" Bylaw revisions

A number of Regents Bylaws are being submitted for updates that are not substantive in nature, and update current practices or entities, or have other changes since the last "housekeeping" update.

The following proposed revisions to the University of Michigan Regents Bylaws were posted in the *University Record* for public comment, and are recommended for approval.

Respectfully submitted,

Jon Kinsey

Vice President and Secretary

Attachment

December 2024

Sec. 11.14. The **MARSAL FAMILY** School of Education Executive Committee (revised February 2014 December 2024)

Sec. 11.15. The **MARSAL FAMILY** School of Education Courses for the Training of Teachers of Physical Education (revised April 2009 **December**, 2024)

In cooperation with the School of Kinesiology, the **MARSAL FAMILY** School of Education will provide a curriculum for the training of physical education teachers.

Sec. 11.16. The MARSAL FAMILY School of Education Teacher's Certificate (Revised December 2024) The faculty of the MARSAL FAMILY School of Education will recommend to the State Board of Education all candidates for the Teacher's Certificate.

Sec. 11.18. The University of Michigan-Flint: College of Arts, and Sciences AND EDUCATION Executive Committee

Sec. 11.215: The University of Michigan-Flint School of Nursing Executive Committee (added June 2017, revised December 2024)

The executive committee will consist of the dean who will serve as chair, ex officio, and six faculty members elected by the governing faculty, and appointed by the Board of Regents on recommendation by the chancellor. The appointed members will hold office for three years, and will not be eligible for reappointment until after the lapse of one year. Terms will begin on September JULY 1 and end on August 31 JUNE 30, and will be adjusted so that one or two will expire each year.

Sec. 11.38. The UMMS Executive Committee (revised July 2016 December 2024)

The UMMS executive committee will consist of the EVPMA/Dean, the executive vice deans of the UMMS and nine TEN members of the executive faculty (four instructional, one research, two-THREE clinical, and two department chairs) to be appointed by the Board of Regents on recommendation by the president. The appointed members will hold office for three years and will not be eligible for reappointment until after the lapse of one year. The terms will be staggered so as to provide continuity of membership. The EVPMA/Dean will chair the committee.

Sec. 11.53. The School of Social Work: The Executive Committee (revised July 2021 **December 2024)**

The executive committee will consist of the dean and seven-EIGHT members of the governing faculty: five tenured and one un-tenured member of the professorial staff, and one clinical faculty member, AND ONE GRAND-AT-LARGE MEMBER, to be appointed by the board on recommendation by the president. The appointed tenured members and the clinical faculty member will hold office for three years, and the appointed un-tenured member of the professorial staff, AND THE ONE GRAND-AT-LARGE MEMBER, will hold office for three years. The terms will be adjusted so that no more than three members' appointments will expire each year. The dean will chair the committee.

Sec. 6.02. Undergraduate and Graduate Degree Programs (revised May 2020 December 2024) The following is a list of the schools and colleges and degree programs offered at each. The Office of the Registrar on each campus maintains an official list of all specific degrees offered at every school and college on that campus.

Ann Arbor Campus

A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning (U, NRG, RG)

Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design (U, RG)

Stephen M. Ross School of Business (U, NRG, RG)

School of Dentistry (U, RG, GP)

MARSAL FAMILY School of Education (U, RG)

College of Engineering (U, NRG, RG)

School for Environment and Sustainability (U, NRG, RG)

School of Music, Theatre & Dance (U, NRG, RG)

School of Nursing (U, RG)

College of Pharmacy (U, RG, GP)

School of Public Health (U, NRG, RG)

Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy (U, RG)

School of Social Work (NRG, RG)

Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies (RG)

School of Information (U, NRG, RG)

School of Kinesiology (U, RG)

Law School (GP)

College of Literature, Science, and the Arts (U, RG)

Medical School (GP, RG)

The University of Michigan-Flint

College of Innovation and Technology

College of Arts, and Sciences & Education (U, NRG, RG)
College of Health Sciences (U, NRG)
School of Education and Human Services (U, NRG)
School of Management (U, NRG)
School of Nursing (U, NRG)