THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

ACTION REQUEST

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement

Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Lynnea A. Johnson, Ph.D., professor of dentistry in the School of Dentistry, retired from active faculty status on December 31, 2022.

Dr. Johnson received her B.A. (1975) degree from Morningside University, her M.A. (1979) and Ph.D. (1993) degrees from the University of Iowa. After teaching in the public schools, Dr. Johnson joined the faculty at the University of Iowa's College of Dentistry as an assistant professor (1995). She earned tenure and the rank of associate professor (2000) and was appointed director of educational methodology and instructional technology (2000). Dr. Johnson joined the University of Michigan's School of Dentistry in 2002 as an associate professor with tenure and as director of dental informatics. She was promoted to professor (2007) and appointed assistant dean for informatics an innovation (2008). She served as the associate dean for faculty affairs and institutional effectiveness from 2014-2022.

Dr. Johnson researched the scholarship of teaching and learning and sought to improve health through the use of information technology. Dr. Johnson's scholarship foci were the investigation of research questions focused on using technology to improve health, the evaluation and investigation of techniques used in health records to improve health, the evaluation of the merit and cost of information technology products and methodologies, the development of national and international standards for health information technology and the use of these standards in health care settings. She has almost twenty years of consecutive support for her work. Nationally, she organized numerous workshops and symposia, and published and presented her research. Throughout her career she taught numerous students and mentored a variety of faculty. Dr. Johnson earned a number of awards, the most prominent being the AADS' Leadership Recognition Award (2000), Apple's Innovation in Science and Research (2008) and the ADEA's William J. Gies Award for Innovation for Dental Educators (2019).

The Regents now salute this distinguished faculty member by naming Lynnea A. Johnson, professor emerita of dentistry.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Lally J. Churchill

Vice President and Secretary of the University

December 2022