## REGENTS COMMUNICATION REQUEST FOR ACTION

SUBJECT:

Sec. 11.07: The University of Michigan-Dearborn: College of Arts,

Sciences and Letters Executive Committee

Scc. 11.21: The University of Michigan-Flint School of Education and Human Services Executive Committee

ACTION:

Approval of Bylaw revisions

The following proposed revisions to the University of Michigan Regents Bylaws are recommended for approval:

Sec. 11.07: UM-Dearborn - College of Arts, Sciences and Letters Executive Committee Executive Committee

This amendment reduces the size of the college's Executive Committee from eight to seven voting members to reflect the recent merger of the departments of Language, Culture, and Communications, and Literature, Philosophy, and the Arts into one department, Language, Culture, and the Arts.

Sec. 11.21 of the University of Michigan Bylaws specifies that UM-Flint School of Education and Human Services (SEHS) Executive Committee

The faculty and administration are in full agreement that the SEHS bylaws be modified to reflect three-year terms for Executive Committee members. Three-year terms will lead to greater operational efficiency for SEHS and a more equitable distribution of workload for faculty.

Respectfully submitted,

Sally J. Churchill

Vice President and Secretary

September 2022

Sec. 11.07. The University of Michigan-Dearborn: College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters Executive Committee (revised April 2008 September 2022)

The executive committee will consist of the dean and eight—seven faculty members of senate rank to be appointed by the Regents on recommendation by the chancellor and the president. The appointed members will not be eligible for reappointment until after the lapse of one year. The terms will be for three years and will be so adjusted that at least two vacancies will occur each year. The dean will chair the committee.

Sec. 11.21: The University of Michigan-Flint School of Education and Human Services Executive Committee (revised November 2021 September 2022)

The executive committee will consist of the dean and four full-time tenured members of the governing faculty of senate-rank, each to be appointed for a two-three-year term by the Regents on recommendation by the president. The members of the committee should be broadly representative to include members from each department in the school and will not be eligible for reappointment until after the lapse of one year. The terms will be adjusted so that two vacancies will occur each year. The dean will chair the committee.