## THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Adopted by the Regents September 18, 2014

Regents Communication

## **ACTION REQUEST**

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement
Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

**Janet U. Kozyra, Ph.D.,** George Carignan Collegiate Research Professor and research professor, Space Physics Research Laboratory, College of Engineering, will retire from active faculty status on September 30, 2014.

Professor Kozyra received her B.S. (1979), M.S. (1981), and Ph.D. (1986) degrees from the University of Michigan. She joined the University of Michigan faculty as an assistant research scientist in 1986, and was promoted to associate research scientist in 1992, research scientist in 1998, senior research scientist in 2001, and research professor in 2004. Professor Kozyra was named the George Carignan Collegiate Research Professor in 2005.

Professor Kozyra's research focused on sun-geospace system dynamics; magnetic storms; coupling of the inner magnetosphere to the solar wind, magnetotail and underlying atmosphere/ionosphere; neutral atom and ion precipitation at Earth, Venus and Mars; and wave-particle interactions in the magnetosphere. She was a science team member on several NASA missions including the Dynamics Explorer; the Anomalous Magnetospheric Particle Tracer Explorer/Change Composition Explorer; the Polar Spacecraft; the Thermosphere, Ionosphere, Magnetosphere Energetics and Dynamics Mission; and the Mars Explorer. Professor Kozyra has an extensive publication record and was a frequent invited speaker at national and international symposia. She received numerous honors including the University's Outstanding Research Scientist Award in 1992, the College of Engineering's Research Excellence Award in 1999, and was elected a fellow of the American Geophysical Union in 2005.

The Regents now salute this distinguished faculty member by naming Janet U. Kozyra George Carignan Collegiate Research Professor Emerita and research professor emerita.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Vice President and Secretary of the University

Churchill

September 2014