

UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN REGENTS COMMUNICATION Items for Information

SUBJECT: June 2025 Faculty Governance Update

1. Faculty Senate Leadership

The Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) is the executive arm of the University (Faculty) Senate and the Senate Assembly. The nine members of SACUA meet regularly throughout the academic year to represent faculty interests. On May 1st, a new SACUA chair and a new SACUA Vice Chair began their one-year terms to those positions and three new SACUA members began three-year terms. A new University Senate Secretary has also been elected by the University Senate. As a result of these changes, the Faculty Senate's leadership until April 30, 2026 now consists of the following faculty:

<u>SACUA</u>

- Derek Peterson, SACUA Chair, Ali Mazrui Collegiate Professor of History and African Studies, Associate Chair, Department of History, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
- Soumya Rangarajan, SACUA Vice Chair, Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine, Medical School
- Jesse Capecelatro, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Associate Professor of Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering
- Kirsten Herold, Lecturer IV, School of Public Health
- Vilma Mesa, Professor of Education, Marsal Family School of Education and Professor of Mathematics, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
- Heather O'Malley, Assistant Research Scientist, Pharmacology, Medical School
- **Melanie Tanielian**, Associate Professor of History and Director Academic Program, Program in International and Comparative Studies, International Institute, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts
- Kentaro Toyama, W K Kellogg Professor of Community Information and Professor of Information, School of Information
- Alex Yasha Yi, Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering, College of Engineering and Computer Science, The University of Michigan-Dearborn

Additional Senate Leadership

- **Rogério Meireles Pinto**, Senate Secretary. University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor, Berit Ingersoll-Dayton Collegiate Professor of Social Work, School of Social Work, Professor of Theatre and Drama, School of Music, Theatre & Dance and Professor of Art and Design, Penny W Stamps School of Art and Design
- **Deirdre Spencer**, Senate Parliamentarian. Librarian, Library Research Arts and Humanities, University Library
- **Rebekah Modrak**, Immediate Past Chair. Professor of Art and Design, Penny W Stamps School of Art and Design



2. Presidential Search

SACUA has issued a "Statement of Principles Concerning the Upcoming Presidential Search." The statement was approved by SACUA on May 21, 2025 after soliciting input from the members of the Senate Assembly (~77 elected representatives from all three campuses and all Ann Arbor Colleges and Schools). That statement can be read <u>here</u> and has been shared with all the members of the Faculty Senate. It has been endorsed by the Ann Arbor chapter of the American Association of University Professors.

3. Senate Assembly Committees

Every year, 18 Senate Assembly Committees advise executive officers and/or address issues within the university. Those committees are concluding their work for the year and submitting final reports to SACUA for review. SACUA thanks the 18 Chairs and the members who served on these committees. We also thank the Senate Assembly Nomination Committee that worked to populate these committees with new members for the 2025-26 year and look forward to working with these new Chairs and members in the upcoming year.

4. Summer Preparations and Recess

The Faculty Senate Office is preparing for the upcoming 2025-2026 academic year. SACUA, Senate Assembly, and Senate Assembly Committees are on summer recess and meetings will recommence in the fall. Notwithstanding the recess from regular meetings, the SACUA and the SACUA Chair remain available as needed throughout the summer to address University matters and to provide advice regarding important policy considerations impacting the university community.

Submitted: June 2025

Derek R. Peterson, SACUA Chair SACUA Regents Update June 2025