THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

ACTION REQUEST

Subject:

Report of Faculty Retirement

Action Requested:

Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Jonathan M. Rubin, M.D., Ph.D., William Martel Collegiate Professor of Radiology and professor of radiology in the Medical School, will retire from active faculty status on June 30, 2017.

Dr. Rubin received his B.A. (1969) degree from the University of Utah and his M.D. (1974) and Ph.D. (1977) degrees from the University of Chicago. He completed his internship (1974-75) and residency (1975-77) as well as served on the faculty (1977-84) at the University of Chicago. Dr. Rubin joined the University of Michigan faculty as an associate professor in 1984, and was promoted to professor in 1989. He was named the William Martel Professor of Radiology in 2015.

An outstanding radiologist, Dr. Rubin is a leading abdominal imager with special expertise in diagnostic ultrasound and image-guided interventional procedures. His deep understanding of the field combined with strong communications skills made him a remarkable teacher, often ranked near the top of the faculty by radiology residents. An inquisitive and innovative research investigator, Dr. Rubin authored over 200 scholarly articles in the leading scientific publications, was a frequent invited speaker at national and international symposia, and published 13 patents for his discoveries. He has a notable history of successfully securing research funding from the National Institutes of Health as well as many societies, foundations and industry. He is a recipient of the Lawrence Mack Lifetime Achievement Award from the Society of Radiologists in Ultrasound in 2011 and was selected to deliver the New Horizons Lecture at the 100th meeting of the largest radiology society, the Radiological Society of North America in 2014.

The Regents now salute this distinguished abdominal radiologist for his dedicated service by naming Jonathan M. Rubin, professor emeritus of radiology.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Vice President and Secretary of the University

June 2017