## The University of Michigan Regents Communication Action Request

Subject: School of Nursing Executive Committee

Action Requested: Approval of Change to Executive Committee

The School of Nursing Executive Committee is currently composed of six tenured faculty members, at least four who are tenured professors, are members of the University Senate, and are nominated by the governing faculty. The requested change to the composition of the School of Nursing Executive Committee, to include an additional two senior clinical track professional faculty members, will bring the committee membership to eight, not including the dean.

The inclusion of the two senior clinical track professional faculty members will better reflect the current faculty composition of the school, and will provide a more inclusive environment.

Approval of this recommendation would require a subsequent amendment to Regents' Bylaws Sec.11.41.

## Sec. 11.41. The School of Nursing Executive Committee

The executive committee will consist of the dean and six eight members of the faculty to be appointed by the board on recommendation by the president. The appointed members will hold office for three years and will not be eligible for reappointment, whenever possible, or until after the lapse of one year. The terms will be so adjusted that at least two but no more than four will expire each year. The dean will chair the committee.

Recommended by,

Martha E. Pollack Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs

June 2016