REGENTS COMMUNICATION ACTION REQUEST

SUBJECT:

University of Michigan-Dearborn Bylaws

ACTION:

Approval of Revised University of Michigan-Dearborn Bylaws, Article IV

EFFECTIVE DATE: March 3, 2020

I have reviewed the proposed changes to the University of Michigan-Dearborn's Bylaws as recommended by the University of Michigan-Dearborn's Faculty Senate. The revisions incorporate a change to the voting membership of the Faculty Senate where the At Large Campus Representative position is reserved for an elected librarian.

These revisions have received a favorable vote by the University of Michigan-Dearborn Faculty Congress. They have been reviewed by Provost Susan E. Alcock.

I recommend these changes for adoption.

Recommended by:

Domenico Grasso Chancellor University of Michigan-Dearborn

March 2020

<u>Proposed Revisions to University of Michigan-Dearborn Bylaws</u> (Additions are underlined; deletions are crossed out)

Article IV.2.1.c. Apportionment of Voting Members.

Apportionment of Voting Members. Each academic unit shall have the following number of voting members in the Senate: College of Education, Health and Human Services, three members; College of Business, three members; College of Engineering and Computer Science, three members; and CASL, nine members. In addition, there shall be one at large seat held by an elected librarian. selected in the manner specified in section IV.2.3 below.

Article IV.2.3. Election of Faculty Senate Members.

The governing faculty of each school or college shall elect their Senate representatives at large. In the case of CASL, however, each department shall elect one representative; the remaining representatives shall be elected by the College at large.

One representative shall be elected <u>from among the professional librarians</u>. at large from the campus as a whole. Any member of the governing faculty, or professional librarian or curator shall be eligible for this seat.

Faculty members holding administrative appointments of 50% or more are ineligible to serve in the Senate as elected faculty representatives.