## THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

## ACTION REQUEST

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement
Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Roberta M. Beyer, Ed.D., professor of education in the University of Michigan-Dearborn College of Education, Health, and Human Services, retired from active faculty status on April 30, 2020.

Professor Beyer received her B.A. (1978) degree from Elmhurst College, her M.S.Ed. (1979) degree from Northern Illinois University, and her Ed.D. (1988) degree from Vanderbilt University. She joined the University of Michigan-Dearborn faculty as an assistant professor in 1995, and was promoted to associate professor in 1999, and professor in 2007.

Early in Professor Beyer's career, she was a teacher and administrator in public, nonprofit, and parochial schools. She began her university career as an assistant professor at Bemidji State University, Bemidji, MN (1992-93) and at West Texas A&M University, Canyon, TX (1993-95). At UM-Dearborn, Professor Beyer served as the associate dean for the School of Education (2000-06). She was awarded the 2009 Susan B. Anthony Campus Award, which recognizes campus members' work on behalf of women. She served as the president elect (2011-13), president (2013-2015), and immediate past president (2015-17) of the Michigan Association of Professors of Educational Administration. Professor Beyer also served as an executive board member of the International Council of Professors of Educational Leadership (2017-20). Her extensive record of service to the Department of Education's Ed.D. Program included advising numerous doctoral students, as well as serving as the co-director of the program, as the chair or member of many doctoral committees, and as a member of the Ed.D. Advisory Committee. She was also the program coordinator for the Educational Leadership Program.

The Regents now salute this distinguished educator for her dedicated service by naming Roberta M. Beyer, professor emerita of education.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Vice President and Secretary of the University

March 2020