## Subject: Faculty Governance Update

At the regularly scheduled University Senate and Senate Assembly meetings on March 17, Senate and Senate Assembly members will elect the University Senate Secretary and four new members of the Senate Advisory Committee on University Affairs (SACUA) to replace outgoing members whose terms have expired.

Dr. Robert Fraser a librarian from the Mardigian Library of UM-Dearborn, so far, is the candidate for the Secretary slot.

There are ten faculty members who are candidates for the four opening positions on SACUA. So far, candidates for SACUA are:

Sara Ahbel-Rappe, professor of Greek and Latin, LSA Daniel Burns, professor of mathematics, LSA Joseph Custer, professor of pediatrics and communicable diseases, Medical School Kimberlee Kearfott, professor of nuclear engineering, Engineering John Lehman, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, LSA Janine Maddock, professor of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, LSA William Schultz, professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics and professor of naval architecture, Engineering David Smith, John G. Wagner Collegiate Professor of Pharmacy and chair of the department of pharmaceutical sciences, Pharmacy Stefan Szymanski, professor of kinesiology, Kinesiology Silke-Maria Weineck, associate professor of Germanic languages and literature, LSA

On March 24, SACUA will elect a new Chair and Vice Chair of SACUA to replace those whose terms are ending. Potential candidates are still being formed.

New SACUA officers and members will take office May 1.

Submitted: March 2014

TESchill

(T E Schneider on behalf of SACUA)