Received by the Regents January 17, 2008

ANN ARBOR CAMPUS

- 1. Recommendations for approval of new appointments and promotions for regular associate and full professor ranks, with tenure.
 - (1) Marilia Cascalho, M.D., Ph.D., associate professor of surgery, with tenure, and associate professor of microbiology and immunology, without tenure, Medical School, effective January 1, 2008.
 - (2) Mary E. Gallagher, promotion to associate professor of political science, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, effective January 1, 2008 (currently assistant professor of political science.)
 - (3) José Jalife, M.D., Cyrus and Jane Farrehi Professor of Cardiovascular Research, and professor of internal medicine, with tenure, Medical School, effective January 1, 2008.
 - (4) Jeffrey L. Platt, M.D., professor of surgery, with tenure, and professor of microbiology and immunology, without tenure, Medical School, effective January 1, 2008.
 - (5) Edwin Romeijn, professor of industrial and operations engineering, with tenure, College of Engineering, effective September 1, 2008.
 - (6) Euisik Yoon, associate professor of electrical engineering and computer science, with tenure, College of Engineering, effective September 1, 2008.
- 2. Recommendations for approval of new appointments and promotions for regular associate and full professor ranks, without tenure.
 - (1) Santiago Schnell, Ph.D., associate professor of molecular and integrative physiology, without tenure, Medical School, effective January 8, 2008.
- 3. Recommendations for approval of joint or additional appointments or transfers of regular associate or full professors and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (1) Thomas C. Buchmueller, Ph.D., professor of health management and policy, without tenure, School of Public Health, effective January 1, 2008 (also Waldo O. Hildebrand Professor of Risk Management and Insurance, and professor of business economics and public policy, with tenure, Stephen M. Ross School of Business.)

ANN ARBOR CAMPUS

- 3. Recommendations for approval of joint or additional appointments or transfers of regular associate or full professors and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (2) Steven N. Dworkin, director, English Language Institute, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, effective January 1, 2008 through June 30, 2009 (also professor of romance linguistics, with tenure, and professor of linguistics, with tenure.)
 - (3) David R. Engelke, associate dean for academic program and initiatives, Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies, effective January 1, 2008 through June 30, 2011 (also assistant dean for graduate and postdoctoral studies, and professor of biological chemistry, with tenure, Medical School.)
 - (4) Gloria E. Helfand, associate professor of environment, without tenure, Program in the Environment, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts and School of Natural Resources and Environment, effective January 1, 2008 (also associate professor of environmental economics, with tenure, School of Natural Resources and Environment.)
 - (5) Marcia C. Inhorn, professor of anthropology, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, effective January 1, 2008 (also professor of health behavior and health education, with tenure, School of Public Health, professor of obstetrics and gynecology, without tenure, Medical School, and professor of women's studies, without tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.)
 - (6) Powel H. Kazanjian, M.D., professor of epidemiology, without tenure, School of Public Health, effective January 1, 2008 (also professor of internal medicine, with tenure, Medical School.)
 - (7) Rita Loch-Caruso, professor of environment, without tenure, Program in the Environment, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts and School of Natural Resources and Environment, effective January 1, 2008 (also professor of toxicology, with tenure, School of Public Health.)
 - (8) Paul W. Webb, professor of environment, without tenure, Program in the Environment, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts and School of Natural Resources and Environment, effective January 1, 2008 (also professor of natural resources, with tenure, School of Natural Resources and Environment, and professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.)

ANN ARBOR CAMPUS

- 4. Establishing and renaming professorships and selected academic administrative positions.
 - (1) Establishment of an Endowed Professorship as the Ravitz Foundation Professorship in Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, Medical School, effective January 1, 2008.
 - (2) Establishment of an Endowed Professorship as the Frank Norman Wilson Professorship in Cardiovascular Medicine, Medical School, effective January 1, 2008.
- 5. Recommendations for approval of other personnel transactions for regular instructional staff and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (1) Sandra R. Gunning, change in appointment and transfer of tenure to professor of English language and literature, with tenure, and professor of Afroamerican and African studies, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the arts, effective January 1, 2008 (currently professor of English language and literature, with tenure, professor of American studies, with tenure, Program in American Culture, and professor of Afroamerican and African studies, with tenure.)
 - (2) Richard J. Jackson, Graham Family Professor, Graham Environmental Sustainability Institute, effective February 1, 2008 through January 31, 2013.

DEARBORN CAMPUS

- 6. Recommendations for approval of other personnel transactions for regular instructional staff and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (1) Brian P. Green, Richard E. Czarnecki Collegiate Professor, School of Management, effective January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2010 (also professor of accounting, with tenure.)
 - (2) Kim E. Schatzel, dean, School of Management and promotion to professor of management studies, with tenure, effective January 1, 2008 (currently interim dean, and associate professor of management studies, with tenure.)

FLINT CAMPUS

- 7. Recommendations for approval of joint or additional appointments or transfers of regular associate or full professors and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (1) Eric G. Freedman, chair, Department of Psychology, College of Arts and Sciences, effective January 1, 2008 through June 30, 2008 (also professor of psychology, with tenure.)