THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

ACTION REQUEST

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement

Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Carolyn Kraus, **Ph.D.**, Dorothy Lee Collegiate Professor and professor of communications and composition in the University of Michigan-Dearborn College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters, retired from active faculty status on August 31, 2019.

Professor Kraus received her B.A. degree from Occidental College in Glendale, California in 1966, her M.A. degree from the University of California, Berkeley in 1972, and her Ph.D. degree from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor in 1999. Professor Kraus joined the UM-Dearborn faculty as a lecturer in 1974, and was promoted to assistant professor in 1999, associate professor in 2004, and professor in 2010. She served as the director of the Humanities and History Internship Program from 1999-2018.

Professor Kraus was the sole recipient of the 1980 campus-wide Distinguished Teaching Award. Four years later, she received the statewide Michigan Governor's Citation for Teaching Excellence, and in 2017, she was awarded the Dorothy Lee Collegiate Professorship. With a strong record of publication in venues of high stature, including the *Partisan Review*, *Biography*, *The New York Times*, and *The New Yorker*, Professor Kraus also received awards for her critical articles and narrative essays. Professor Kraus spearheaded the development of the journalism and screen studies discipline, combining the school's film and journalism courses under the umbrella of storytelling. She also expanded her own research and creative endeavors. Believing in the dictum of practice what you preach, she joined forces with a filmmaker colleague to initiate a large multimedia project, 1001 Voices from Detroit, which has produced three documentary films.

The Regents now salute this dedicated, accomplished teacher and scholar by naming Carolyn Kraus, professor emerita of communications and composition.

Requested by:

huschill

Sally J. Churchill, J.D. Vice President and Secretary of the University

October 2019