## THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

## **ACTION REQUEST**

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement

Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Susan A. Murphy, Ph.D., Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics and professor of statistics in the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, professor of psychiatry in the Medical School, and research professor in the Survey Research Center, Institute for Social Research, retired from active faculty status on August 31, 2017.

Professor Murphy received her B.S. (1980) degree from Louisiana State University and her Ph.D. (1989) degree from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She served on the faculty of The Pennsylvania State University from 1989-97. She joined the University of Michigan faculty as an associate professor in 1998, and was promoted to professor in 2001. Professor Murphy held additional appointments in the Institute for Social Research and the Medical School. She was named the Herbert E. Robbins Collegiate Professor of Statistics (2004-14) and later the Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor of Statistics (2014-17).

Early in her career, Professor Murphy made fundamental contributions to the field of statistics by developing a principled justification for the use of maximum likelihood estimation methods for high dimensional parameters. Subsequently she led the effort in the statistical, computer science, and clinical fields in the development of clinical trial designs and data analysis methods for use in personalizing treatments for individuals with chronic disorders. This innovative work led to Professor Murphy being named a MacArthur Fellow by the John D. and Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation in 2013. She also developed experimental designs and data science for improving wearable health technologies. Professor Murphy is a well-regarded educator of graduate and undergraduate students. She initiated and mentored the Ph.D. student organizers of the highly successful Michigan Student Symposium for Interdisciplinary Statistical Sciences. Professor Murphy was elected a member of both the National Academy of Medicine (2014) and the National Academy of Sciences (2016).

The Regents now salute this distinguished faculty member by naming Susan A. Murphy, Herbert E. Robbins Distinguished University Professor Emerita of Statistics, professor emerita of statistics, professor emerita of psychiatry, and research professor emerita.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D.

Vice President and Secretary of the University

Churchell

September 2017