The University of Michigan Regents Communication

Action Request

Subject: Revisions to the Board of Regents' Bylaws

Action Requested: Approval of revisions to Sections 6.02 and 11.51

Attached are recommended amendments to the University of Michigan Board of Regents Bylaws.

The proposed changes to Section 6.02 Undergraduate and Graduate Degree Programs are housekeeping amendments resulting from previously approved board actions.

The proposed changes to Section 11.51 College of Pharmacy Executive Committee have been approved by the governing faculty.

I recommend approval of the amendments as presented.

Respectfully submitted,

elly J. Churchill

Sally J(Churchill Vice President and Secretary of the University

Attachment

July, 2017

Sec. 6.02. Undergraduate and Graduate Degree Programs (revised February 2014)

There are 19 schools and colleges on the Ann Arbor campus of the University of Michigan, four schools and colleges on the Dearborn campus, and five schools and colleges on the Flint campus.

The University offers four types of degree programs: Undergraduate ("U"), Rackham graduate ("RG"), non-Rackham graduate ("NRG"), and graduate professional ("GP"). Graduate degrees fall under the aegis of the Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies or the individual schools and colleges, as indicated below.

The following is a list of the schools and colleges and degree programs offered at each. The Office of the Registrar on each campus maintains an official list of all specific degrees offered at every school and college on that campus.

Ann Arbor Campus

A. Alfred Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning (U, NRG, RG) Penny W. Stamps School of Art and Design (U, RG) Stephen M. Ross School of Business (U, NRG, RG) School of Dentistry (U, RG, GP) School of Education (U, RG) College of Engineering (U, NRG, RG) School of Kinesiology (RG) Horace H. Rackham School of Graduate Studies (RG) School of Information (NRG, RG) School of Kinesiology (U, RG) Law School (GP) College of Literature, Science, and the Arts (U, RG) Medical School (GP, RG) School of Music, Theatre & Dance (U, NRG, RG) School of Natural Resources and for Environment and Sustainability (RG) School of Nursing (U, RG) College of Pharmacy (U, RG, GP) School of Public Health (NRG, RG) Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy (U, RG) School of Social Work (NRG, RG)

The University of Michigan-Dearborn

College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters (U, RG, NRG) College of Business (U, NRG) College of Education, Health, and Human Services (U, NRG, RG) School of Engineering and Computer Science (U, NRG, RG)

The University of Michigan-Flint

College of Arts and Sciences (U, NRG, RG) School of Health Professions and Studies (U, NRG) School of Education and Human Services (U, NRG) School of Management (U, NRG) School of Nursing (U, NRG)

These housekeeping amendments are the result of previously approved board actions.

Sec. 11.51. The College of Pharmacy: The Executive Committee (revised October 2007, <mark>July</mark> <mark>2017</mark>)

Membership. The executive committee will consist of the dean of the college, who will chair the committee (without vote) ex officio, and five six elected members of the governing faculty above the rank of assistant professor, clinical assistant professor, or research assistant professor that meet the following additional criteria: two members from each academic department, with at least one tenured faculty member from each department; one member from the clinical track faculty; and greater than fifty percent of the elected members must be tenured faculty. : to be appointed by the board on recommendation by the president (including four voting members who are tenured faculty above the rank of assistant professor and one non-voting member representing the clinical faculty). The terms will be for three years and will be adjusted so that only one member from each department is elected in any given year. A minimum of one year is required between terms of service. no more than two will expire in any given year. Assistant and/or associate deans and department chairs of the college may will serve as *ex officio* members without vote and are not eligible to serve as elected members. Associate chairs and Senate assembly representatives are also ineligible to serve as elected members. upon recommendation by the chair and confirmation by unanimous vote of the committee. Their terms of office will be for one year but may be renewed each year.

The change in composition was approved by the College of Pharmacy governing faculty members at the January 20, 2017 faculty and staff meeting.