THE UNIVERSITY OF MICHIGAN

Regents Communication

ACTION REQUEST

Subject: Report of Faculty Retirement

Action Requested: Adoption of Retirement Memoir

Edward W. Larsen, Ph.D., professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences in the College of Engineering, retired from active faculty status on May 31, 2019.

Professor Larsen received his B.S. (1966) and Ph.D. (1971) degrees from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. He served on the faculties of New York University and the University of Delaware. He was a staff member at the Los Alamos National Laboratory from 1977-86. He joined the University of Michigan faculty as a professor in 1986.

Professor Larsen's research focused on the development of advanced algorithms for the mathematical analysis and the computational simulation of problems associated with the interaction of radiation with matter (particle transport). Much of his analytical work involved the use of asymptotic expansions to more precisely describe the relationship between transport theory and approximate diffusion theories. Professor Larsen's computational work led to more accurate discretization methods for deterministic transport calculations, more efficient and robust methods for accelerating the iterative convergence of deterministic calculations, and more efficient hybrid Monte Carlo/Deterministic methods. His work has been utilized in modern computer codes that simulate practical nuclear reactor and related radiation transport problems. During his career, Professor Larsen co-authored over 350 scholarly papers and mentored 42 Ph.D. students. He was elected a fellow of the American Nuclear Society (ANS) in 1988 and received several of the most prestigious awards in the international nuclear community, including the U.S. Department of Energy's E.O. Lawrence Award (1994), the ANS Arthur Holly Compton Award (1996), and the ANS Eugene P. Wigner Reactor Physicist Award (2009).

The Regents now salute this distinguished teacher and scholar for his dedicated service by naming Edward W. Larsen, professor emeritus of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences.

Requested by:

Sally J. Churchill, J.D. Vice President and Secretary of the University

May 2019