SUMMARY OF PERSONNEL ACTIONS REGENTS AGENDA FEBRUARY 2005

ANN ARBOR CAMPUS

- 1. Recommendations for approval of new appointments and promotions for regular associate and full professor ranks, with tenure.
 - (1) Y. David Chung, associate professor of art and design, with tenure, School of Art and Design, effective September 1, 2005.
 - (2) Elona Van Gent, associate professor of art and design, with tenure, School of Art and Design, effective September 1, 2005.
 - (3) Shin Mineishi, M.D., associate professor of internal medicine, with tenure, Medical School, effective March 1, 2005.
 - (4) John Montgomery, professor of chemistry, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, effective September 1, 2005.
- 2. Recommendations for approval of new appointments and promotions for regular associate and full professor ranks, without tenure.
 - (1) John J.G. Tesmer, Ph.D., associate professor of pharmacology, without tenure, Medical School, effective July 1, 2005.
- 3. Recommendations for approval of reappointments of regular instructional staff and selected administrative staff.
 - (1) Timothy L. Colenback, assistant dean for student services, School of Social Work, effective April 1, 2005 through March 31, 2010.
- 4. Recommendations for approval of joint appointments or transfers of regular associate or full professors and selected administrative staff.
 - (1) Denise E. Kirschner, associate professor of biomedical engineering, without tenure, College of Engineering, effective January 1, 2005 through December 31, 2007 (also associate professor of microbiology and immunology, with tenure, Medical School.)
 - (2) Lumin Wang, professor of materials science and engineering, without tenure, College of Engineering, effective January 1, 2005 through December 31, 2007 (also professor of nuclear engineering and radiological sciences, without tenure.)

SUMMARY OF PERSONNEL ACTIONS REGENTS AGENDA FEBRUARY 2005

ANN ARBOR CAMPUS

- 5. Recommendations for approval of other personnel transactions for regular instructional staff and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (1) James R. Barber, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2008 (also professor of mechanical engineering and applied mechanics, with tenure, and professor of civil and environmental engineering, without tenure, College of Engineering.)
 - (2) Freda A. Herseth, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2008 (also associate professor of voice, with tenure, School of Music.)
 - (3) Timothy A. McKay, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2008 (also associate chair, and associate professor of physics, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.)
 - (4) Lester P. Monts, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2008 (also senior vice provost for academic affairs, Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, senior counselor to the president for the arts, diversity, and undergraduate affairs, Office of the President, and professor of ethnomusicology, with tenure, School of Music.)
 - (5) Takeshi Takahara, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2008 (also professor of art, with tenure, School of Art and Design.)
 - (6) Alford A. Young, Jr., Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2008 (also associate professor of sociology, with tenure, and associate professor of Afroamerican and African studies, with tenure, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.)
 - (7) Michael A. DiPietro, M.D., John F. Holt Collegiate Professor of Radiology, Medical School, effective April 1, 2005 through August 31, 2010 (also professor of radiology, with tenure.)
 - (8) Richard D. Friedman, Ralph W. Aigler Professor of Law, Law School, effective March 1, 2005 through February 28, 2010 (also professor of law, with tenure.)
 - (9) Carolyn O. Frost, acting dean, School of Information, effective March 15, 2005 through August 15, 2005 (also associate dean, and professor of information, with tenure.)

SUMMARY OF PERSONNEL ACTIONS REGENTS AGENDA FEBRUARY 2005

ANN ARBOR CAMPUS

- 5. Recommendations for approval of other personnel transactions for regular instructional staff and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (10) David Ginsburg, M.D., Warner-Lambert/Parke-Davis Professor in Medicine, Medical School, effective July 1, 2004 through August 31, 2009 (also professor of internal medicine, with tenure, professor of human genetics, without tenure, James V. Neel Distinguished University Professor of Internal Medicine and Human Genetics.)
 - (11) James S. Jackson, director, Institute for Social Research, effective July 1, 2005 through June 30, 2010 (also Daniel Katz Distinguished University Professor of Psychology, professor of psychology, with tenure, and director, Center for Afroamerican and African Studies, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, and professor of health behavior and health education, without tenure, School of Public Health.)
 - Wei Shyy, Clarence L. "Kelly" Johnson Collegiate Professor of Aerospace Engineering, College of Engineering, effective January 1, 2005 through December 31, 2009 (also professor of aerospace engineering, with tenure, and chair, Aerospace Engineering.)

DEARBORN CAMPUS

- 6. Recommendations for approval of joint appointments or transfers of regular associate or full professors and selected administrative staff.
 - (1) Richard Moyer, professor of natural sciences, with tenure, Department of Natural Sciences, College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters, effective March 1, 2005 (also professor of science education, with tenure, School of Education.)

FLINT CAMPUS

- 7. Recommendations for approval of other personnel transactions for regular instructional staff and selected academic administrative staff.
 - (1) Paul K. Peterson, chair, Department of Philosophy, effective January 1, 2005 through December 31, 2007 (also associate professor of philosophy, with tenure.)

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

8. Ann Arbor Campus